Švankmajer: Little Otik

Little Otik is just your run-of-the-mill story of a couple who can’t conceive and decide to nurse a tree stump. The tree stump then comes to life, with um hilarious consequences. It eats quite a lot of people. It’s more hardcore than Lars and the Real Girl, let’s put it that way.

Maybe I’m getting a bit jaded, but compared to some of the other things I’ve seen, for Švankmajer this seems like quite a straight movie.But what am I saying? It’s still funny and freaky in dollops. For Marina Warner, it’s her favourite film by the Svank. I dunno if I’d go quite that far, but it is really good.

I found a piece in the Guardian which suggests the Svank has taken LSD. Whatta surprise. In his own words:

How does this relate to my most recent film, Little Otik? I don’t know. Maybe in the way the unhappy heroes of the story succumb to their desire to have a child as they might have succumbed to a drug. That desire then gives birth to the demon which destroys them. What at first looks like gratification and deliverance from their desire turns out to be a pernicious delusion.

Sorry I know this isn’t a particularly comprehensive review, I think I might be getting a bit pooped by the relentless schedule of the retrospective (in a good way). Hm what to add. I really liked the actress who played the little girl, Alzbetka and actually everyone was good. And the dad is the furry roller perv from Conspirators of Pleasure.

One thought on “Švankmajer: Little Otik

  1. Pingback: Švankmajer: Shorts 3 1979-1983 | i munch moovies

Leave a Reply

